My Heart Will Always Remember

There’s never a good time to say “good-bye” and nothing really makes it easier.  Even when it comes to the last “so long, pal” for a horse that had already disappeared out of my life before.  I grieved his loss for 15 years and when I came to terms with the fact that he was likely already dead, I finally moved on and allowed myself to heal.  I didn’t get to say it to him in person when he left the first time but when my heart started to feel better, I whispered it to Knight in the dreams he visited me in.  Not a day passed that I didn’t think of him and silently think to myself all that I had accomplished because he had touched my life.  He was my angel.  He taught me to spread my wings, how to fly and in the end, how to soar.  Because of him, I’m still here. (read our story by clicking here)

After he magically reappeared in my life last month, I tried to prepare myself for the inevitable, the thought of losing him again.  Surely it wouldn’t be as difficult.  I’d already learned to live without him, I could do it again.  Especially since I had one last chance for closure, I was given the gift of time to say that “good-bye” that I never got to say before.  Tonight, I can honestly say that closure was not what I was looking for.  What I needed was eternal life.  I needed an old, decrepit horse to live forever.

When I got the call at 11:30 this afternoon, I left work and rushed to the barn.  I made it there by 11:45 or so and the vet was there soon after.  Knight’s vitals were checked and his breathing was labored, his head bobbed, he dripped sweat, his heart raced and he was in obvious pain.  A rectal examination found that he had a severe intestinal blockage about 90 feet into his intestines.  He was tubed with mineral oil and treated for colic.  I asked the vet if we were doing everything we could and he said that surgery wasn’t recommended due to his age but we could try a “belly tap”.  I agreed and the vet inserted a needle into Knight’s stomach.  He explained that the fluid he would be drawing out should be a wheat color and any other color would show signs of other problems that could have led up to the intestinal blockage.  When he pulled back on the plunger, the syringe filled with blood.  Knight had bled internally for probably quite a while.  The vet said that the gut is one of the first things to fail when a horse is bleeding inside and that was the case with Knight.  An IV was administered and Knight received injections of a pain medication equivalent to Morphine and injections of sedatives to try to calm him down.  The vet left and after about an hour, I got worried and I thought he should come back out and that maybe we should put him down so he wouldn’t suffer.  While I thought that I had come to terms with it, the vet thought otherwise and he said that he just couldn’t stop when I wasn’t ready and he didn’t think Knight was yet either.  He hung more bags of fluid and left again.

Around 5, I finally left the barn and Larry stayed with Knight while I went to get the boys from school.  On the way to the barn, I tried my best to explain what was happening and that I thought it was time for the boys to tell Knight “good-bye”.  Paris was heartbroken and refused to leave the barn.  He just kept saying over and over, “I’m not leaving so you might as well get it out of your head.  I’m sleeping here with you and Knight.”  After much struggle, we finally got a bawling Paris to leave the barn.

I settled in my chair, right inside Knight’s door, resigned to my post until the time that Knight got better or he left me.  I would not leave him in his time of need, I planned to see this through, no matter where it was going.  That horse never left me when I needed him and it was about time that I paid him back for saving me all those times.

Just after 8, one of Knight’s former owners came to the barn to see him.  She had seen my post on Facebook and rushed out to the barn.  Thankfully, she was there or I would have been all alone.  I was blessed to have her there for Knight and I, all the way through the end.  Some may think it odd that I had a perfect stranger sitting with me but this wasn’t about me, it was about Knight.  She was a part of his life just as much as I and she loved him just as much.

At 9, Knight became listless and he began to back around his stall.  At 9:30, I was at my wit’s end and I thrust a carrot at him and told him, “You HAVE to do this!  Eat this and get better right now!”.  He looked at me like a scorned child and he leaned out and reluctantly took the carrot and ate it.

By 10, exhaustion had set in and I had finally come to terms with the fact that the situation wasn’t improving, it was getting worse.  Knight could barely keep his eyes open and he was starting to fall against the stall.  I made the horrible decision to end his suffering and I called the vet back out.  He said he’d be at the barn in 40 minutes.

I guess Knight was paying attention and he was waiting for me to come to terms with what was happening.  Within minutes of me calling the vet, he moved to the front of his stall, directly in front of the door and as close to us as he could get and he laid down.  He rubbed his head across his soft shavings one last time, he closed his eyes and stretched out his legs and then he was gone.  He took his last breath as I held his head and stroked his face and as his former owner stroked his neck.  Both of the little girls that he raised were with him when he left.

My angel left me for the last time tonight.  At 10:15, he laid down and was gone.  I think that even in his final hours, he thought of me and he tried to protect me.  He fought hard, I think to give me time to be ready.  And when I finally thought I was, when I had finally made up my mind, he spared me the pain of following through.  He waited until I was ready and when I was, he was gone.

The heart doesn’t forget and mine will always remember a beautiful, black stallion who kept angel wings hidden under his mane.

I think my son said it best.  He said,

“You know mom, when Knight dies, it’s never going to be dark again.” I asked him why and he said, “It will be impossible. When he’s in heaven his star is going to shine too bright.”

I’m already looking to the heavens and searching for the brightest star where I know my old fella will be shining brightly and watching over me for the rest of my life.  Guess I’ll have to be investing in a telescope.  How else will I solve all of life’s problems?

Posted on August 29, 2013, in Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Tyra Alldaffer

    I am bawling like a baby for you right now! My heart is so heavy. Knight was so blessed to be loved by you and you by him. Please know that I share your grief and have no words that could comfort you…only time will help to heal your broken heart. I am so thankful you were there for him in the end! Bless you for being such a beautiful soul.

  2. Darath I’m so sad reading this and my heart hurts for your loss. You are an amazing person and I hope that because of this you will have closure. I’m thinking of you and your beloved Knight.
    xoxo
    Chris

  3. I love you Team Darath and although I didn’t get to meet him I love Knight for all that he helped you through. I bawled like a baby reading this and my heart is heavy but I’m happy Knight isn’t in any pain and galloping free.

  4. Michele chapman

    You are an amazing writer! All of your posts make me laugh & cry. Thank you for sharing all of your personal stories with us. You are an amazing lady!

  5. Michele chapman

    I wasn’t finished typing when I hit “post” by mistake! I am so sorry for your loss of knight. I know it doesn’t make it any easier but you were given a gift by being able to give him a final goodbye. He knows how much you love him :-)

  6. To love and to be loved are the greatest gifts this world has to offer and love is what you and Knight gave each other. My heart aches for you Darath. So unfair that someone who has put so much time and effort into saving animals should have to loose one of her own. I’m going to light a candle for your sweet Knight and whisper a prayer that he will be safe and happy until you meet again. ^i^

  7. I am so sorry for your loss. Knight knew you loved him and he sure did love you. He left this world knowing love and with the people who loved him beside him.

  8. God Bless you & your family & Knight…he knew as all animals do when it’s time & he knew….I know you will miss him as everyone who loves their pets miss them when they’re gone for good….but you have to realize that he isn’t gone forever, it isn’t good bye it’s more like see ya later. You all will be together again eventually. Remember rainbow bridge, you all will be playing, riding, galloping again someday….so don’t distress.

  9. I’m so sorry for your loss. I totally understand how you feel. I had my horse for 34 years, from birth. It killed me to have to put him down. He layed his head in my lap, and took a deep breath and sighed, telling me it was alright. I thought I was gonna die with huim. My prayers are with you at this time.

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,339 other followers