Sometimes Heroes Need Saved, Too

I’ve sat here trying to figure out exactly what it is that I want to say and how it is that I want to say it.  Since I can’t seem to think of anything nice or soothing and all I have to share is anger, I will post something inspirational.  Maybe all of my animal rescue friends need to hear it as much as I do.

We Are Their Heroes

If you worry that you have not made a difference, you have,
for only those who do not worry about it have not.
If you feel overwhelmed, if the weight of problems is too heavy to bear,
remember it is a shared burden
and the strength of numbers can accomplish much.

If you think society and government are blind,
it only serves to remind that we need to change
one mind at a time, one law after another.
We effect change by cooperation, not by isolation.
If you consider that we cannot save them all,
and what difference does one make?,
you ought to know the joy of the one who is saved.
Mourn those we cannot save, it is a eulogy to their being.
Do not let their loss be in vain.

Be kind to yourself, remember your needs
and those of your family and friends of every species. Strive to be happy and healthy. You are needed.
Achieving balance in life is a lifelong struggle.
We who help those who do not have all that they need
should be among the most grateful for what we have.

Be proud of your accomplishments, not your opinions.
The quality of your efforts is more important than the quantity.
Forgive your own deficiencies – sometimes your caring is sufficient.
Everyone can do something, it is up to you to do the thing you can.
A kind word and a gentle touch can change a life.

If anger wells up within you, because people are the problem,
remember your humanity and that people are also the solution.
Concentrate on specific needs, pay attention to the individual –
they make up the whole.
See beyond the unlovable, the unattractive,
the impure and the wounded –
see that their spirit is as deserving as the rest. Help them heal.
Their eyes are windows to their soul
and the mirror of your sincerity.

All species, all beings, share this Earth in a chain of life.
Care more about what makes us alike than what separates us.
Policies, rules and regulations are not infallible.
Apply them judiciously, interpret them wisely.
No decision based purely on money is ever the right one.

Listen to your heart. Sometimes we have to do that which
we are most afraid of.
Be true to yourself and your beliefs.
Family may abandon you,
friends may disappoint you, strangers will ridicule you.
People shun what they do not understand.
Help them to understand – kindly, softly, gently.

Those who do not respect all life are to be pitied.
Often the wrongdoer is as in need of help as his victims.
Forgive, then teach by example.
Educate yourself or you cannot hope to teach others.
No action based in hatred is ever right
and anger drowns out wisdom.

Yours may be a voice crying in the wilderness,
make it a voice to be respected.
Listen more than you talk, be courteous and reliable.
Learn to ask for help. Never waiver from the truth.
Know that it takes a lot of strength to cry
And with every defeat, we learn.

All Creation celebrates that which is in its own best interest.
The Children are our hope – nurture them.
Nature is our legacy – protect it.
The Animals are our brethren – learn from them.

Your rewards will not be material, but they will be meaningful,
and the courage of your convictions can survive anything.
We are small boats cast adrift on a cruel sea,
but someday the tide will turn toward a safe harbor.
No matter how dark the storm clouds,
or deep the pain of heartbreak – never forget:
We are their heroes.
Copyright © Jim Willis 2001, all rights reserved

 

I told myself that I was going to make a new blog about everything that has happened at Halfway Home Pet Adoptions (HHPA) since it had been a while.  I’ve sat here for over an hour, writing this blog out in my head.  The only thing that keeps coming into my mind is a photo with a “RIP” that I saw on Facebook and the countless posts from friends who state that 17 dogs lost their life today.  17 dogs that could have been saved if we were allowed to do more.  17 dogs that could have been saved if we would have only known.  No more are the days where a dog goes from an Urgent List to a Critical list.  No more are the days that those 17 dogs would have had another chance due to the tireless efforts of dozens of rescues and volunteers.  No more are the days… that 17 dogs will have a chance at a life that they so deserved.  Instead on this day, they took their last breath.  Were they at least comforted and shown compassion in their dying moments?  I don’t know, I just don’t know.

I am sure that my family enjoys having me around for dinner, knowing that they have my full attention.  The days where my phone is constantly ringing and I am amidst 50 emails in an hour about saving a list of 30 dogs are gone.  I don’t find myself running around crazy and constantly worrying about how fast I can save the Critical dogs on “The List” because there isn’t one.  Life should be more enjoyable and I should be able to fall asleep without crying but I can’t.  Maybe things are worse now that I feel like I have no control over a deteriorating situation.  What I hoped would help save lives has cost more.

Shelter pets are dying at astounding rates.  Kansas City’s shelter pets are dying even faster than in recent years due to shelter overcrowding, pet overpopulation, poor management, lack of city involvement and most of all NO ACCOUNTABILITY.  You can try and place the blame in a million places.  It’s the City’s fault, it’s Steck’s fault, it’s Kansas City’s fault, it’s budget problems… and the list goes on and on.  There are a few constants here and that is PEOPLE and ANIMALS.  PEOPLE are to blame for ANIMAL over population.  I can go all Bob Barker here but it doesn’t matter because people don’t seem to pay attention.

So, for all of you who neglect to listen maybe I need to tap in to another one of your senses.  Maybe you need to see the lives lost because you sure as hell aren’t doing anything about it otherwise.

Today, 17 dogs were walked down a hall and they closed their eyes forever.  Today, while you were busy enjoying your life, a dog lost theirs’.  While we don’t know most of them or what happened during their time on Earth, we should know that we can do more.

To Dixie, Gabriel, Tony, McKenzie, Murphy, Seamus, Wilma, Pebbles, Bianca, Jordan, Scooter, Isaiah, Zelda, Cream Soda, Loki, Jazzy and Simba:

I’m sorry that we let you down.  I’m sorry that I didn’t get the chance to know you but I bet some great people tried to make the end of your life as comfortable and as filled with love as possible.  We didn’t know it would happen so soon and we thought that we had more time.  Please know that you aren’t any less special to us and you will forever be in our hearts and on our minds.  We will work harder and become stronger so that you know you did not die in vain.  We will never give up until every dog and cat has a loving forever home.  I hope you know that in the end, you found your Forever Home.  It was and always will be, in the hearts of all that tried to save you.

 

Rest in peace sweet babies and know that one day you will get to show these bastards what “aggression” is when they are being dragged away from the Rainbow Bridge by their worthless asses.

 

 

Posted on April 11, 2011, in Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Sarah Mullally

    Oh girl…this is so beautifully written. Just beautiful. You have me crying. Those pictures…its all too much to handle sometimes…

  2. WERE THEY ALL PUT DOWN? 😦

  3. I am angry too. We have discovered the answers and they refuse to listen to them for now. They are idiots and I too have wondered if maybe some vipers and starving alligators might meet them and pull them under the bridge and poke them with poison heartsticks. BASTARDS!

    I am sorry you are hurting too. I know we will win this battle and we will save them all. All that are not too sick or suffering to be made comfortable and live with families, rescues, forever homes, or sanctuaries. We are closer today than yesterday and we will accomplish it.

    We will do this in my lifetime because I made the promise to my grandkids that we would not leave this legacy of horror that we are fighting for them to fight over. We support you.

    I think the poem is bs though. I dont think we get things done by being nice and proper. I dont think anyone ever changed a thing by being agreeable with the status quo.

    ❤ do not give up. never ever ever give up.

  4. thank you for posting such beautiful words… this event makes me realize that we cant wait for a Critical list… we have to work everyday like it might be their last. we have to do it because they cant and we are the ones that are at fault for not taking care of god creatures.

  5. I am sitting here saying the F word to myself over and over…and I feel like throwing up….was Isaiah the brindle smiling boy?!? I had posted him on my wall and it is gone now…so he is dead? We need more people to step up and foster…this is so overwhelming. I wanted him out soooooo bad….and it was not possible to bring him here…I am full with my own pets and fosters. I am BEGGING people who only have 1 or 2 animals to PLEASE FOSTER one of the animals at Halfway Home….talking about the situation does NOTHING…take ACTION and HELP

    • I know the desperation and sadness that you feel from not being able to save them. It’s a terrible feeling to think you can save them and then reality hits and you realize that you can’t. You didn’t let him down, Amy. Just by you caring, I guarantee that you will work even harder for the next one. It’s a viscous cycle but it’s one that never ceases in animal rescue. Thank you for trying so hard.

  6. Thank you, Darath, for taking the time for this tribute to these beautiful dogs. I hope many prayers are being said tonight and that these angels are now truly at peace. I am not sure I can forgive someone for killing 17 dogs without letting us know. “We” the rescue folks are here to HELP, if only we are given the opportunity. Jamie is right – we have to treat every day as if it might be their last.

    • It is so sad that lives have to be lost before people realize what is happening. When we plea for help to save the dogs, it often times falls on deaf ears… but when we post about the number of lives lost only then do people become concerned. We need to figure out how to get our pleas answered before it’s too late.

  7. Darath – this was well written. I am sobbing and had to take breaks when reading it. My heart is broken for these sweet babies who lost their lives. They did nothing wrong to deserve to be in the situation they were put in to being at HH. I pray that God will intervene and fix this shelter. I can’t believe he would be pleased with humans putting domestic family pets down. The cruelty of animals in this world have got to stop. What were the reasons the 17 were put down? Agressive? To ugly so they are deemed unadoptable. I have seen that as a reason. Halfway homes needs to change immediately – and shelters all need to become NO KILL!

  8. Hi, I would like to share some of this on my own blog with a courtesy to you. This is written very well and the truth needs to be spoken. I have over 20,000 monthly active users on my facebook business page and know I can help spread the word. Be looking for a blog post today from me on http://www.fixyourimages.blogspot.com

Leave a Comment

