The Translation of “You are so Nice”

Over the past few months, I have heard the words “You are so nice” so many times that now they are meaningless.  Why?  Because they have been linked to nothing but disappointment.  It seems those words are the communication condom that’s put on just before someone screws you over.  Me, I am gullible and so far this year I have fallen for those words more times than I can count and now I am walking around with a sore ass (if you catch my drift).  Just how many times can someone be screwed?

For my entire life, I’ve felt like I owed everything to someone else.  I’m not quite sure when this all came about and I’ve tried to psycho-analyze myself over and over again but I never can get the answer.  I give and I give and then I break a little but then give more.  How is it even possible?  And why in the hell can’t I say “no” to anyone besides my kids when they ask for a toy or my boyfriend when he wants to make naughty-time?

I am a “people pleaser”.  I will do just about anything to make someone happy, to get them to smile when they are sad or to help someone when they need it.  What’s really dumb is the fact that I will sacrifice everything I have to make someone else happy but when it comes to what I need, I don’t listen and really don’t care. ” Oh, you forgot your lunch?  I’ll share mine with you.”.  Ask Larry (the boyfriend) and he will tell you that I am not into sharing anything, let alone my food.  But with that being said, why would I do something that I know won’t make me happy, just to help someone else?  Someone answer this!!  Does this make me “fake”?  I can hear Larry answering already.

I’ve gotten REALLY good at pissing off the boyfriend, all in my constant attempts to “do the right thing” or to save the world.  I’ve had countless dogs stay over which is not tolerated by the Bowser (my crochety old mutt) and therefore, is not tolerated by the boyfriend.  These dogs have deuced on top of running humidifiers, they have eaten the carpet off of our stairs, they’ve scratched up doors and that’s only the things that Larry actually KNOWS happened (I hope this is a blog he doesn’t read).  Any time that a dog is in need and I bring them home, Bowser has to go on “lockdown” and he can never come in contact with the stranger.  Do you know how difficult it is to quarantine and coordinate the wee schedules of 2 dogs, all while trying to maintain control over 3 children so they don’t let the dogs see or hear each other?  So yes, our house has been on edge and I have had to buy my teenager lots of pillows because that always seems to be the first thing a new dog wants to eat.  Again, I am placing something else above myself.

More recently, I was made aware of a homeless family who was going in to transitional housing and they were worried about what would happen to their dogs because they had no one to take them and the housing situation wouldn’t allow for them to stay with their family.  They had contacted rescue groups and “no-kill” shelters for help and got nowhere.  After making contact with someone who knows me, I found out about the situation and I tried for a week to find a temporary home so these dogs could be saved from the shelter and they could be returned back to their owner when the 90-day transition was up.  When I couldn’t find anything, I offered to help cover the costs of boarding the dogs for the 90 days.  The family promised to help pay and said that they would go see the dogs frequently and help with their care.  I found a facility that would take the 2 senior dogs at a discounted rate and I made the arrangements for the homeless family.  A few days from today, the 90 days is up… the family hasn’t contacted me one time since a day or so after the dogs were dropped off.  Even worse than that, the family hasn’t paid a dime.  I have covered it thus far and still am paying it.  The family was at the facility earlier this month to visit the dogs and when the subject of the 90 days ending was brought up, the family looked stressed and they haven’t been seen since.  So now what?  What do I do?  What does the boarding facility do?  Again, my heart jumped before I could think things through and AGAIN I got myself into another pickle and another situation where I could be taken advantage of.  And why would I do that for a family that I have never met and probably will never know?  I wish I knew the answer to that one.

I’m sad and frustrated that the world is full of untrustworthy souls.  I want so badly to be able to think that I can save the world… and maybe if people weren’t such asshats, there could be a chance of salvation.  Maybe the world is as bad as it is because it’s easier to say “You are so nice” than to actually show someone that you care for them and appreciate them.

Okay, my ranting is done.  It’s time to bend over and get ready for the next person that comes along.  Does anyone have any Preparation-H or at the very least, lube?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on August 23, 2012, in Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Where are these seniors located? What kind of dogs? People = icky. Animals = love. You did the right thing, in your heart, for the dogs. I love your posts!

  2. howcanthisb@yahoo.com

    So, somehow I subscribed to your blog, and have been reading it for awhile now. I love animals, especially dogs. I rescued my dog Kudo back in November. This last blog post has made me feel like you need help. Im getting help right now for anxiety and depression and the biggest thing for me is dealing with things I can’t control.sometimes u can’t change things and u have to except that…(I know I can’t)…but i’m trying.I think in your case, trying to save every dog isn’t going to work. Maybe focussing on the dog you have at home for a little while would bring up your spirits.i’m sure he would love the extra attention. And then your kids..Larry can wait.I hope I haven’t spoke out of turn, and I only hope my advice will brighten your day…

    Brad

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

    • Actually Brad, you hit the nail on the head. Being so involved in animal rescue is draining and exhausting. Lately, I have been trying to focus a little more on what is happening at home and a little less on what I don’t really have control over. And Xanax helps, too. =)

  3. I could easily become a dog hoarder . I feel so very bad for all the ones that don’t get saved or helped. I don’t become a hoarder because the 2 I have is all i can manage and it would not be good for them or me if I filled my house up with dogs that need saving. I love the 2 I have so very much and that is what stops me from going to far. I also have to ask are the 2 dogs you have in boarding going to go back with the family or are you going to have to find them a new home. If they abandoned the dogs then you see their true colors.

    • I am still waiting to see how all of this plays out. Technically, the family checked the pets in to the boarding facility and they probably signed documents. All I have done is pay. =( But, should the family not pick the dogs up, we will have to find them a home to live out the rest of their days. It’s so sad…

      • Please let me know. If you need them networked to find them a new home I will network. I would like to see them with their family but we all know how that goes. They should have shown some good faith and at least given you some kind of payments towards the boarding then at least they would have shown they were trying.

  1. Pingback: Yup, People Suck « I Say Things So You Don't Have To

Leave a Comment

