Bowser’s Update, April 10th, 2013

There are tons of great sounds in the world.  Right now, I’m hearing the best one ever… a squeaking dog toy.  The repetitive, non-stop squeaking which can only be made by a dog who is happy and wants to play.  Yup, it’s pretty awesome!

Last night, it took 4 hours and a lot of patience to get one chicken breast down Bowser.  When he kept it down, it was the smallest of victories but it felt so amazing to have some progress.  He took his first Prednisone last night so I’m not sure that the steroids had anything to do with the success but I was thrilled regardless.

This morning while I was getting ready for work, I hand fed Bowser kibbles of dry dog food, one at a time until I reached about 1/4 of a cup.  When that stayed down, I was even more hopeful.  Today when I got home, I was excited to see my pal but when he didn’t greet me at the door and he didn’t respond to my calls, I got really worried.  I found him laying on the couch, sound asleep.  After I woke him up (and scolded him for scaring me), I decided to risk giving Bowser some dry dog food to eat on his own.  I poured one cup of Fromm Senior into his stainless steel bowl, added some hot water and I handed it to him and walked away and sat down.  Bowser went to the food and started eating and I sat watching him and waited for the aftermath.  He finished up the food and stood there looking at me, trying to figure out why I was staring at him.  Obviously getting a complex, he got mad at me and he walked away and laid down.  5 minutes passed, then 10, 15, 30 and when an hour struck, I ran through the house with excitement.  It’s now been 3 hours and all is well!  Not only did he hold down the dog food but he also felt up to mooching some spaghetti noodles off of my plate.

A few minutes ago we went outside for a bathroom break and when we came in and I started to dry the rain off of him, he started to bite at the towel and act like he wanted to play.  All I had to say was, “I’m gonna get him” and he took off running around the house and he grabbed his toy for tug-of-war.  When I thought he had enough, I sat down to share a Bowser update with all of you and Bowz sat and started squeaking his toy.

I know they are small things but they are the things that make my heart hurt less.  I can smile, I can laugh and I can’t wait until we beat this thing.  If any dog can do it, I know Bowser can.

For all of you who have offered support, love, prayers and warm wishes… thank you.  Every moment that someone spares for us will not be wasted.  You are all giving us the gift of time.  Sappy as it may be, I still have faith that those things really can save us.

Love & slobbery dog kisses,

Dare & Bowz

4/10/2013

Posted on April 10, 2013, in Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Adorable pic! Thinking of both of you.

  2. Tyra Alldaffer

    This makes my heart happy for both of you!

  3. Thanks for the update as Bowser has been in my thoughts. I f you do decide to go threw treatment remember there will be good days and bad days. Enjoy the good days and get threw the bad days together.

  4. *HUGS* going to both of you. I hope Bowser has many more of these wonderful days of eating good and keeping it down and staying happy/playful! I am thinking of you often….

Leave a Comment

