1 Month After Diagnosis: Bowser’s Update

It’s been exactly one month since my best pal was diagnosed with oral melanoma.  So, what’s happened since then?  We’ve had our ups and downs but since I haven’t updated in a while, I thought I would let you know what’s been happening.

Bowser finished up his dose of meds and he’s been completely off of them for a few weeks.  For the most part, my old dog is back to normal except for when it comes to eating and keeping it down normally.  Unfortunately, we are still stuck in a “piece by piece” food delivery but thankfully, I’m chock full of hillbilly ingenuity.  Instead of feeding Bowser one piece of dog food at a time, I’ve found that the “bird method” actually works.  At my wit’s end one day, I tossed a handful of dog food on the floor (imagine you’re feeding birds).  Bowser went around to each piece and he kept it down… and that has been how he’s eaten ever since.  In the morning and evening I will throw him small handfuls of food.  Yes, it’s messy and incredibly annoying, but it works.

We still have our “bad days” but thankfully, those are not happening as much now.  Most of the time, Bowz is bounding through the house and he’s happy.  It’s funny but it seems like all of this turned around after “Bowser Day”.  Maybe it was my way of handling his sickness but who knows, all I care about is that things are better.  I’m still filled with fear every day when I go home and I still worry non-stop but I guess it’s a different kind of worry.  I don’t feel like he’s going to fall over dead at any given moment.

Our lives have changed since April 1st when we got the diagnoses.  My relationship with Bowser has definitely changed drastically.  Since I’ve been babying him so much, he now doesn’t want to go outside without me.  When I let him out the door, he will turn around and look over his shoulder to see if I’m behind him.  When he hears the refrigerator door open, he runs to it because he thinks that he’s going to get a piece of turkey (because that’s how I gave him his meds).  When a cabinet door opens, he thinks I’m getting out pills which equals turkey.  And the hilarious thing is that when he hears a pill bottle now, he goes running wherever it is.  My dog has become a druggie.  But hey, whatever works.  Bowser sleeps in bed with us many nights, which he didn’t get to do before.  I guess you could say that all of this has brought Bowser and I even closer than we were before.  It’s pretty nice.

Last week, I arrived home to find Bowser didn’t want to get up to greet me.  I was worried until I walked around the corner and saw the mess that was waiting for me.  Bowser had gotten into the empty trash can and eaten the trash bag and he also got into my bag of pet food samples and helped himself to 3 bags of dog and cat food.  Yup, we’re starving him.  I mean, he’s getting an entire cup more than he used to but we’re still depriving him of food so much that he has to break into closed packages.  So my new chore is to get a baby-lock so the damn dog can’t get into the cabinet.  Next thing I know he’s going to be opening the fridge.

We’re still hanging in there and holding on for dear life.  Regardless of what tomorrow brings, it can never EVER take away what we have today.

Warning, Graphic Image: Some viewers may find this animal abuse hard to see. Viewer discretion advised.

Posted on May 1, 2013, in Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Ashley Wagner

    What a happy update! So glad you have your baby back, and what a great outlook. He’s lucky to have you! Continued prayers for you all!

  2. Tyra Alldaffer

    I love this! I am so happy that he is enjoying life again, and you are even more closely bonded. The best part was when you said he has been allowed to sleep in your bed!! I complain about never having any room on the bed because of the dogs and cat, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Thank you for sharing Bowser Day through photographs. It gave him the needed strength to continue fighting for his health. Love and prayers to you ♥

  3. i am so happy Bowser is doing better. I am glad that he has a great friend in you to take such good care of him and have the patients to do it. I am glad you are enjoying each other and have become closer.

  4. What a great picture…I can see how abused he is! Love and kisses to Bowz from my herd!

Leave a Comment

